Women's fiction

Rings

‘One Long Weekend’ – Shari Low

5-star-rating

One Long Weekend

When all seems lost, hope remains… Val Murray has mislaid her most precious mementoes of the people she’s loved and lost. Can her family, the wonders of technology and a little divine intervention somehow mend her shattered heart?

Sophie Smith had to take a rain check on a marriage proposal. Will her bid to turn back the clock lead her to her greatest love or yet another heartbreak?

Alice McLenn stood by her husband, Larry when a scandal cost them everything. When he hits the headlines again, Alice has an opportunity to leave – but can she find the strength to finally walk away?

Rory Brookes was forced to turn his back on his parents to save his career and marriage. Now, he’s lost his job and wife on the same day. Is it too late to make amends with the one person who never let him down?

Three days. Four broken hearts. Just one weekend to make them whole again.

I love how Low brings together a range of characters over a disastrous event. As you would expect, this story takes place over a long weekend (Friday through to Sunday) and is narrated from four character view points. This isn’t as confusing as it would seem, thanks to the long chapters and developed characterisation.

At some points the character chapter would finish on a cliff-hanger, making me desperate for the story to circle back to them to find out more. But something else would then happen which would distract me and keep me hooked on the story as a whole. Therefore, I felt fully invested in all of the characters and enjoyed how they finally cross paths to lead to a happy conclusion.

The author’s introductory note definitely had my anxious nerves tingling, as readers learn that Val losing her precious rings in this book is based on a personal experience. The opening chapter consequently sets up this event and I could feel my anxiety rising, desperate for Val to hold on to her precious treasures. Yet, without this moment, readers would not get the opportunity to meet Sophie on her journey to reconnect with an old flame, Rory and his unexpected divorce, and Alice who is secretly plotting to leave her husband. Cleverly the author connects these characters together and I loved how there is so much warmth between these central people.

Fans of Shari Low will recognise some characters from previous books. I was delighted to read a story with Val as the central character because I have enjoyed seeing her in her other stories. This is still a solo book but I liked knowing a bit more about these repeat characters, having fond recollections of previous Low novels. After all, these characters work so well, what is the harm in recycling them again?!

I have read several books by this author that take place over a small time period with intense actions. Whilst I (thankfully!) did not find it a heart-wrenching tear jerker that others have been, I appreciated the switch between the different view points, meeting together over a couple of days. I think this helped me connect with the characters better, especially as the story felt so emotive with the losing of the rings. It was a lovely read from Low that I enjoyed every step of the way, even if I did hate the prospect of losing something so precious!

With thanks to Boldwood books and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment