Uncategorized

Best books of 2019

Hi everyone!

I have read a lot of books in 2019 – even beating my personal Goodreads challenge of 100 books. I can’t quite believe how many I have discovered this year – plenty of new authors and many that I wish to read more of in the future.

However, as is often the way in December, it’s that time of year that allows for reflection of the twelve months that have passed. With all of the books I have read, including the ones for my Book Bingo, I figured it was the right time to compile my favourite books of the year. It has been difficult deciding the order of these books, but I found it quite easy to choose the novels that have really stuck with me this year.

I hope that you continue to read and like my blog. With all of my reviews, I hope you are able to find your own “book-spiration”!

Top 5 reads of 2019:

1.

Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle – Stuart Turton

(Crime, mystery, thriller)

Hardcastle

Wow. Just wow. Mind. Blown. Seriously. I think I’m going to be suffering from a book hangover for days after reading this. This was an epic, imaginative murder mystery that had my jaw dropping down at every twist and turn…

2.

Becoming – Michelle Obama 

(Non-fiction, autobiography)

Becoming

This book has been on my radar for a while and I have been desperate to read it. Having reserved it at my “e-library”, I was so pleased when it became available sooner than expected! And what was even better, was that this book lived up to my expectations and beyond, providing a heart-felt insight into America’s First Lady…

3. 

The Woman in the White Kimono – Ana Johns

(Drama, romance, historic, emotional)

The Woman in the White Kimono cover Radio 2Set in present day and 1950s Japan, we follow two women’s paths in life. Not really knowing much about post-war Japan, the writer successfully portrays a rigid culture that was immediately immersive and completely compelling…

4.

Code Name: Lise – Larry Loftis

(Non-fiction, war, biography)

Code Name

This is a powerful, haunting narrative. It is excellent. If there is one book you promise to read before the year is out, then this should be it. I have cried, I have felt pain and I have admired Odette Sansom. She is a heroine, a legend and one to be forever remembered…

5.

No One’s Home – D. M. Pulley       

(Horror, gothic, ghosts)

No One

I loved reading this book. And if I had had the time to read this in one sitting, then I most certainly would have done. Chilling, spooky, and mind-bending, this book had me hooked from the beginning. I’m not normally scared by books and don’t have much time for horror stories yet, this book from Pulley was brilliant…

It was a difficult decision to find my top 5 reads of the year, but these books in particular have really stuck with me – long after the final page has been closed. There have been plenty of wonderful, literary discoveries over 2019 and I can’t wait to find more in 2020!

Merry Christmas

Mrs Brown x

Leave a comment