Thriller

Marriage, birth, abduction

‘The Mother’ – Valerie Keogh

5-star-rating

The Mother

Sarah Westfield is unhappily married to perfect husband Nick. Handsome, devoted and kind, he should be the ideal man for her, but Sarah knows their marriage is the biggest mistake she’s ever made…and she wants out.

But then Nick offers her one last chance to make their marriage work – a baby.

Sarah is horrified – a baby would tie herself to this man forever…wouldn’t it? Or could it be exactly what she needs?

So Sarah agrees.

A terrible mother?

When the baby arrives, Sarah struggles with motherhood and her resentment towards Nick only grows. Sarah feels more trapped than ever, but she loves her precious daughter…doesn’t she?

And then baby Kaya goes missing…

And everything Sarah has ever believed in comes crashing down around her…

It’s been a while since I read a Keogh book (they are gradually stacking up on my Kindle!) but it is clear this author still has what it takes to write a gripping thriller. I could not put this book down and was absorbed by this fast-moving narrative.

I found it interesting how Keogh manipulates reader opinions of the main characters. The protagonist, Sarah, started off having my sympathy, which then evolved to frustration and suspicion, altering again before the novel had finished. I felt sorry for Sarah because she is introduced as having married fast, on the rebound, and is now having second doubts. Yet, when her doting husband suggests having a baby, Sarah sees this as an opportunity to redirect her husband’s feelings: Sarah feels that Nick is suffocatingly devoted and would rather him shower his affections on their child.

Yet, as you would expect, things don’t miraculously improve after Kaya is born. When Sarah suggests a mini-break with their young daughter, things turn for the worse as Kaya is abducted. The book then spirals into a web of suspicion as I was convinced that someone was involved in organising the disappearance of a daughter that Sarah has come to resent.

The narrative includes perspectives from an unknown character, as well as parts of the police investigation. I really enjoyed seeing how the officers had investigated the baby abduction, especially as I agreed with the suspicions that one officer held. For me, reading this book made me more convinced that I was correct with my theories, only for the writer to shatter them with later revelations.

Whilst I had guessed some of the plot development, I still found the novel thrilling and exciting. In some respects, I thought Sarah was a deserved victim and sympathised with her husband because of how she treats him. On the other hand, I could understand why Sarah felt so trapped, turning to her best friend for a listening ear and advice. Yet, the moments when the baby is abducted literally turned my blood ice cold and I think this moment marked an increase in intensity in the story.

Brimming with twists, turns and a range of suspects, this book had me on edge until the very end. It was a great read and I loved trying to solve the mystery behind Kaya’s abduction.

With thanks to Boldwood books and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. 

2 thoughts on “Marriage, birth, abduction

Leave a comment