Historical

Danish resistance

The Helsingør Sewing Club’ – Ella Gyland

2-star-rating-1

The Helsingor Sewing Club

Inspired by the incredible true story of how the people of Denmark saved their Jewish neighbours during WW2.

Helsingør, Denmark, 1943: In the midst of the German occupation during World War Two, Inger Bredhal joins the underground resistance and risks her life to save members of Denmark’s Jewish community and help them escape to Sweden.

I was so disappointed in this book. It didn’t match my expectations at all. I thought the narrative was really dry and not too interesting. Switching perspectives didn’t help either: I did not believe the different voices were too distinguished and I drifted through this narrative until the very end.

To be honest, it was the historical aspect that made me award this two stars. In this story, we learn about the resistance movement in Denmark. I had no knowledge of this area of the Second World War so was thankful for the fictional insight into this. Inger and her cousins become involved in the resistance, helping move persecuted Jews to safety. It wasn’t until near the end that I felt the story became more interesting and this was because relationships had been developed enough. Otherwise, very little held my attention.

The story does switch to present day: Inger’s granddaughter discovers her diary and this is her story of what happened during the war. I would have preferred this element of the story to have been omitted: I don’t think it added much to Inger’s story. A concluding Epilogue that explained what happened to Inger and other characters would have been just as fulfilling to the narrative.

I went into this book thinking that the story would be about an illicit sewing club. To date, I am still puzzled over the relevance of the title. I don’t think Gyland made this clear at all and, apart from book binding, I don’t think there was any reference to literal sewing! Perhaps a metaphorical title, I really missed the meaning behind it.

I feel a bit guilty not enjoying a book that is based on historical fact. I am always keen to read historical novels and challenge myself but this one did not engage me at all. I thought the writer’s style was quite dry and I did not come to care for any of the characters. It is such a shame, as this was a great opportunity to learn about another part of this tragic time in world history.

With thanks to Harper Collins, One More Chapter and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment