Historical

Hollywood!

‘The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo’ – Taylor Jenkins Reid

5-star-rating

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one in the journalism community is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now?

Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband, David, has left her, and her career has stagnated. Regardless of why Evelyn has chosen her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career.

Summoned to Evelyn’s Upper East Side apartment, Monique listens as Evelyn unfurls her story: from making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the late 80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way. As Evelyn’s life unfolds through the decades—revealing a ruthless ambition, an unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love—Monique begins to feel a very a real connection to the actress. But as Evelyn’s story catches up with the present, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.

Filled with emotional insight and written with Reid’s signature talent, this is a fascinating journey through the splendour of Old Hollywood into the harsh realities of the present day as two women struggle with what it means—and what it takes—to face the truth.

This is a book that everyone has been talking about for so long, that I felt it was high time I read it. I could not believe it was first published in 2018… this book has longevity and I can certainly see why.

The rise of Hollywood glamour has always been a curiosity for me and this captivated my attention to the novel immediately. Monique’s opportunity at interviewing a famous starlet means she has unequivocal access to the life of a woman who has been a household name for decades. Despite having an understanding of Evelyn, her interview demonstrates that this public celebrity lead a very different private life. And it’s only now that Evelyn is ready to tell her story.

Neatly divided in to seven sections, one for each husband, I loved how the narrative progresses through Evelyn’s life, from the poverty of New York, to the glamour of Hollywood. Each relationship felt unique and I could understand how Evelyn managed to secure so many weddings. Every partner was different but, each time, Evelyn remained in control of the circumstances – as much as the publicity would allow. As Evelyn gradually makes a name for herself on the big screen, I felt like I was becoming closer to her as a character. Consequently, I grew to feel every success, every heartbreak, and every moment in between. Reid’s characterisation is thus phenomenal, and I truly believed I was experiencing Evelyn’s glamourous lifestyle alongside her.

I could not have foreseen the plot direction and Reid keeps every story fresh as we learn about Evelyn’s life. I enjoyed seeing the newspaper articles in between key events and I think this helped keep the narrative grounded in history. In other words, despite Evelyn being a fictional character, I did lose myself in the narrative and forgot about how many years had passed over the husbands. Therefore, these newspaper cuttings help to give an indication of where we are in popular culture, and of course, a rough idea of Evelyn’s age.

There are so many poignant moments in the novel that reach to build a crescendo in the final few chapters. This is one of a small handful of books that had me sobbing towards the end of the story. It is a reflection of Reid’s superb writing because I felt so connected with the narrative. Immersed in the novel from the beginning, the story touched me in many ways and I could not help but experience the pain and grief that was being described.

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel from Reid and think the narrative will stay with me for a while. It is an enchanting depiction of the growth of Hollywood but, at the same time, there is a growing darkness that Evelyn has to cope with. The writing style was captivating from the beginning and, having now read this book, it is easy to see why so many people cannot stop discussing it. For me, this is a keeper and I will certainly have to revisit it again in the future.

Book Bingo 2022 category completed: Everyone is talking about.

4 thoughts on “Hollywood!

Leave a comment