Childrens

Anne (with an ‘e’) Shirley

‘Anne of Green Gables’ – L. M. Montgomery

5-star-rating

Anne of Green Gables

Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert are in for a big surprise. They’re waiting for an orphan boy to help with the work at Green Gables, but a skinny red-haired girl turns up instead. Feisty and full of spirit, Anne Shirley charms her way into the Cuthbert’s affection with her vivid imagination and constant chatter.

Reading this book is very much a personal journey. Having first read this series as a child, I have revisited Avonlea on many occasions. This time, it’s over a decade since my last read and opening this book brought back so many lovely memories of my childhood, reactions to Anne’s story, and a growing warmth of returning to a much-loved series with some of my favourite literary characters.

One thing that surprised me this time around, was how my reading and interpretation of Anne’s story has changed. This is the first time I have read this book as a mother and I think I was able to relate to Marilla’s emotions and behaviours more than ever. The love she has for Anne is immovable and the way she alters over the story shows how much an Anne Shirley was missing from her life. Indeed, I have quite a soft spot for what appears to be a dry, detached parent to Anne and I loved watching her bite her lip when Anne makes some rather entertaining comments.

Yet, reading this book for what must be about the tenth time (I read this series a lot when I was growing up), I still failed to hold in the sobs in the final chapters of the story. Although I was aware of what was happening, I cried like a baby during the emotional, touching scenes. I felt as bereft as Anne: as if I was experiencing exactly what she was going through. It just shows how much I have loved these characters and could recognise many qualities my own family members.

This series does come up as a children’s classic but I have proven it is for all ages! When I was first introduced to these books, I did struggle with Montgomery’s writing, particularly with Anne’s lengthy, verbose speeches. Therefore, for young, strong readers, it’s likely they will need support with approaching what can be considered as quite dense writing. However, it’s a series that children won’t regret reading because it is such a lovely story with plenty of entertaining adventures with Anne and her friends.

I have loved revisiting this first story and am going to enjoy indulging in this series throughout the year. Making me feel forever young at heart, this is definitely a literary tonic to enjoy!

Book Bingo 2022 category completed: Book from your childhood.

2 thoughts on “Anne (with an ‘e’) Shirley

Leave a comment