When a story takes a life of its own

‘Inkdeath’ – Cornelia Funke

1-star-rating (1)

Inkdeath - Cornelia Funke

Inkdeath – Cornelia Funke

The fire-eater Dustfinger is dead, having sacrificed his life for his apprentice Farid’s, and now, under the rule of the evil Adderhead, the fairy-tale land is in bloody chaos, its characters far beyond the control of Fenoglio, their author. Even Elinor, left behind in the real world, believes her family to be lost – lost between the covers of a book.

Facing the threat of eternal winter, Mo inks a dangerous deal with Death itself. There yet remains a faint hope of changing the cursed story – if only he can fill its pages fast enough.

The final book in the trilogy, ‘Inkdeath’ follows in the same threads as the previous novels. Remaining in Inkworld, trouble escalates as it feels as if every man and his dog can write in new material to the living story. As such, it is only until the final showdown that peace is eventually restored.

I found this book equally tedious to the others and really struggled to read it. As such, I ended up dipping in and out of the book and it took me four weeks to get through it. However, this is not a total criticism: each time I revisited the book I found I had not lost touch with the plot and could easily continue where I left off. The character profiles at the back of the book were really helpful in this case, particularly as the cast keeps growing ever bigger! So, if you do find yourself lagging when reading ‘Inkdeath’, take comfort that this is one you can put to one side for a while.

I think I found Meggie and Dustfinger’s stories most enjoyable to follow. They were the most unpredictable and I found myself liking their characters more and more as I disliked Mo at the same rate. I was surprised at how the story concluded (it was wanting to know the ending that made me persevere reading this) but enjoyed the final closing chapter and the perspective Funke offers.

If you liked the other two books in this series then I imagine you would enjoy this one, just not as much. ‘Inkdeath’ is so lengthy, (in my opinion, unnecessarily so,) that it lacks the pace needed to keep you interested. There are some exciting moments in this but I feel Funke would have done better just leaving this story alone after the first novel. I’m glad I have now read this series but I can safely say I won’t be repeating this experience!

Leave a Reply

