Tiresome

‘Inkspell’ – Cornelia Funke

1-star-rating (1)

Inkspell - Cornelia Funke

Inkspell – Cornelia Funke

The captivating sequel to ‘Inkheart’, the critically acclaimed, international bestseller by Cornelia Funke, an author who is emerging as a truly modern classic writer for children.

Although a year has passed, not a day goes by without Meggie thinking of Inkheart, the book whose characters became real. But for Dustfinger, the fire-eater brought into being from words, the need to return to the tale has become desperate. When he finds a crooked storyteller with the ability to read him back, Dustfinger leaves behind his young apprentice Farid and plunges into the medieval world of his past. Distraught, Farid goes in search of Meggie, and before long, both are caught inside the book, too. But the story is threatening to evolve in ways neither of them could ever have imagined.

So, despite me not overly enjoying the first book, ‘Inkheart’, I decided to give the second book in the trilogy a go. Unfortunately for me, this book failed to deliver and I found ‘Inkspell’ more tiresome than the first.

The story returns to the magical world of fairies and words. This time it all starts when Meggie reads herself into Ink world and this is where the trouble begins. The story world has gone out of control and I found it predictable when Meggie and Fenoglio realise that the only way to counteract the troubles, is to write new passages into the book and for Meggie to read them aloud. I think it is because I could see where the story was going, that I got bored of ‘Inkheart’ so quickly. Just like the first book, the passages are lengthy and it feels like it takes a while for it to get going. Despite this, I kept going with this read because I was curious to know what happened to characters. So, I guess the writer does well in this sense as Funke encourages us to care about the characters and their fate. Will they ever return to the real world?

There is a very helpful character list of the start of the book. There are so many characters that it does get quite confusing. Regular readers of my blog will know that I find too many characters makes quite onerous reed, so you can understand why perhaps I didn’t appreciate this book as much as other readers. 

I was really disappointed in this story and was hoping it would redeem itself in the second book. Alas,  I had trouble keeping focus on the story and yes, whilst I totally agree that the premise is magical and unique,  I feel that the delivery was poorly executed.  ‘Inkspell’ took me a while to get through but I still believe I will read the concluding story just so I can find out what happens to the characters. I know, however, that I can’t promise a glowing review!

Leave a Reply

