A slow burner with a surprising ending

‘Unbound’ – Georgia Bell

3-star-rating

Unbound - Georgia Bell

Unbound – Georgia Bell

After her father dies, Rachel realizes she is scared and stuck. Scared of heights, of cars, of disasters harming the people she loves. Stuck in a life that is getting smaller by the minute. Stuck with a secret she has kept all her life: Someone has been watching over her since birth. Someone who tends to show up when she needs him the most. Someone she believes is her guardian angel.

Eaden is a 1,500-year-old immortal who wants to die. Drained by a life stretched too thin, he has requested his final reward – a mortal sacrifice bred specifically to bring him death. But something went wrong. Rachel’s ability to grant death has mutated in ways that threaten to upset the uneasy alliance between mortals and immortals. And utterly beguiled, Eaden discovers that although Rachel is the key to his death, because of her, he no longer wants to die. And he will do anything to protect her.

Swept into a world of legends, caught between the warring political factions of immortals, and carrying the future of mortal kind in her flesh and bone, Rachel must risk everything to save her world and the man she loves.

Goodreads

About the author:

Georgia Bell

Georgia Bell

Georgia Bell was raised on a steady diet of science fiction and fantasy, courtesy of her father, a man who loved his family, fishing, scotch, and science (although not necessarily in that order). Georgia is an avid reader of young adult fiction, and a lover of good wine, music, children, and cats (although not necessarily in that order).

Author links:

 Twitter / Web / Goodreads

Review:

I have to admit, I struggled getting into ‘Unbound’ and found it difficult to connect with the characters. However, as the plot developed, I found myself drawn into this unknown world of immortals and about halfway through started to get into this book and enjoy it. By the time I reached the final chapters, the unexpected conclusion was a pleasant surprise and left me wondering what the next book brings. This, I think, redeemed ‘Unbound’ for me.

‘Unbound’ is very character driven and there is a lot of focus on how Rachel feels towards her life and losses, her insecurities, and finally her relationship with Eaden. Bell really hammers the point of living your life rather than standing back and watching others have a good time and this made me feel really sorry for Rachel and what she has clearly missed out on. Being so isolated from others and doubting herself because of her sightings of an unusual man throughout her life, Rachel comes across as a social outsider and someone who yearns for the love and friendship that was lost when her dad died. She has even resorted to counselling and the awkwardness Rachel feels when trying to explain Eaden to her counsellor without her sounding delusional, is really reflected onto the reader; I found myself desperately hoping her counsellor would understand Rachel and not make judgements!

Sympathy for Rachel aside, the transformation she undergoes after meeting Eaden is a fresh of breath air and she shows an interest in life once more. Bell transforms Rachel’s character from being a wallflower to a a determined and brave young woman. The journey she goes on with Eaden takes readers into the realms of witches and magic. The witches go with Rachel to London for a final show-down and I was hoping that they featured more in the plot development, so I wonder if this will be the case in the next book.

I found this novel a bit of a “plodder” and slow to start enjoying. As I have already mentioned, the conclusion was a surprise and one that left me really curious about what will happen in the next story. Personally I feel that the start of the book could have been shorter and the ending expanded upon. Adding to the concluding plot twist, this would have given more action to the plot and what I think would make this more of an enjoyable read. As such, I feel that ‘Unbound’ is more like a prequel to the following stories as characters and events have now been set up.

I don’t think I would necessarily read this book again but would be interested to see what happens next to the characters. The story is quite unique and I like the hints that are suggested for the next book. Don’t be put off by the slow start, as you might find you really start to enjoy this read and can’t put it down.

This book was provided to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

To get yourself a copy of the book, click here.

UnboundTourBanner1

One thought on “A slow burner with a surprising ending

  1. Ooh I love these books who creep on you! And the whole immortals aspect is really intriguing. I love how character driven it sounds too that’s def the first thing I look for in a book. If I don’t connect to the characters and care about them the rest of the story is not as compelling for me. I need to be emotionally there you know. Glad you liked it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

