Turbulent love

‘I Found You’ – Jane Lark

4-star-rating

Image courtesy of goodreads.com

I Found You – Jane Lark

On a cold winter night, Rachel and Jason’s lives collide on Manhattan Bridge. She’s running from life, he’s running toward it. But compassion urges him to help her. 

His offer of a place to stay leads to friendship and trouble. There’s his fiancée back home in Oregon and a family who just don’t trust this girl from the wrong side of the tracks. 

But when the connection between them is so electric, so right… everyone else must be wrong. And as the snow begins to settle on the Hudson, there’s nothing but the possibility of what could be – of this, right here, right now.

A romance novel that makes you howl at characters for being so misinformed, ‘I Found You’ from Jane Lark is an enjoyable dual narrative that gives you lots of insight into the two main characters, Rachel and Jason.

This dual narrative is different to what I have read before and really forces you to focus on the character and their feelings. The switch in narrative happens in “real time”; by that I mean the point of view switches immediately after a character has spoken or acted so we can an instantly see how this action is viewed and interpreted. At first I found it a little confusing to keep up with and to start with I did re-read sections to check who was narrating. However, as the story developed I found myself yearning to learn the internal monologue of Jason or Rachel and felt relief when I was given this update. I think this switch in narrative works really well, particularly with the emotional baggage both characters have in their past, and this made ‘I Found You’ different for me compared to other romance novels.

The poor judgements that Rachel and Jason experience when they visit his family at Christmas made my blood boil! I think it was because of this dual narrative that I felt I really knew these characters and so when Jason’s family and his old friends back home really give him and Rachel a hard time over their relationship and how quickly things were moving, I felt really frustrated. The narrow-mindedness came across as a realistic struggle this couple were facing, but I did feel that the sudden change in attitude from Jason’s family was just a bit too soon. Yes, I understood that it was linked to what Jason had told his mum and dad that convinced them about his relationship with Rachel, but I did feel there could have been more of a gradual “defrosting” from his parents.

I found that Rachel’s troubled background gave the story more depth, particularly with the health issues that Lark begins to explore. I found it interesting how Jason reacts to this and found it sweet that they were still going to take on the world together. Their lives change so dramatically from first meeting one another that by the end of the story, I really did feel that they could take on anything.

This is a good, enjoyable read with a satisfying ending. If the change in attitude from Jason’s parents had been a bit more gradual but without the story losing its pace, then I think I could have easily given this story five stars. It reaffirms true romance in the world and I thought Jason and Rachel were such a sweet couple. My only criticism is that I wish Lark had revealed the name at the end! Without wanting to give too much away about the plot, so much was hinted at in the Epilogue, that I was expecting this to be revealed. *Sigh* I guess I will have to read the next novel in the series to find out more. A small detail but I was so curious to learn what this was!

A great read for all of you who enjoy romance novels.

This book was provided to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Click the links below to get yourself a copy of the novel, on offer at only $1.99 until Monday 31st March 2014:

Amazon / B&N

2 thoughts on “Turbulent love

  1. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review I Found You, I’m really glad you enjoyed it! and there will be lots more about Jason and Rachel in the following books… So I admit 🙂 to deliberately wanting you to come back for more… I hope you forgive me and do… x Jane

Leave a Reply

