Plenty on offer for all readers

‘Hidden’ – Megg Jensen

5-star-rating

Image courtesy of meggjensen.blogspot.com

Hidden – Megg Jensen

The mystery enshrouding Hutton’s Bridge is as impenetrable as the fog that descended at its borders eighty years ago. Each year, three villagers enter the mist searching for answers. No one ever returns.

Then a dragon falls from the sky to the town square, dead–the first glimpse of an outside world that has become nothing more than a fairy tale to Hutton’s Bridge. Except to Tressa.

Tressa grew up with Granna’s stories of the days before the fog fell. When Granna dies, leaving Tressa without any family, Tressa ventures into the fog herself, vowing to unravel the foul magic holding Hutton’s Bridge captive.

What she discovers beyond the fog endangers the lives of everyone she loves.

Take a village mysteriously surrounded by a thick fog that no one can escape from, a heroine who will do anything to protect her people, and throw in some dragons and a couple of witchy-tree people, and there you have what I think is a fantasy novel that ticks all the boxes. This is the first novel I have read by Megg Jensen and I loved every minute of it.

From the start you know that Tressa, our heroine, is not someone who will shy away from protecting those she loves the most. Her journey shows one who is not deterred by what others say to her and all throughout I was rooting for her to succeed in her quest, whilst at the same time find love at last.

The narrative does break off to following different characters beside Tressa and I enjoyed reading about the action that was going on in the other locations. However, the concept of time gets quite lost in this story; as Tressa prepares for the Black Guard initiation arena-fight, Jensen barely mentions that weeks and then months have passed. I was so engrossed in the story that I did not consider how much time was passing, so think it would have been good if Jensen included this at the start of chapters where appropriate.

I really enjoyed this fantasy novel and think there is a lot to offer readers. The plot was very appealing and the fast pace meant for me, there was never a dull moment. That being said, there were a couple of weaker parts to the story, such as Henry in the final fight scene and the role that Tressa and Bastian’s “parents” play. That being said, the novel concludes with the next adventure being hinted at, so I guess my latter “complaint” will be developed later on in the story and I cannot wait to get my hands on the next instalment.

This is a great novel and I would go so far as to describe it as a ‘fantastic fantasy’. I don’t normally read fantasy books but the blurb certainly had me intrigued and I was not disappointed at all. Whilst this may be considered as young adult fiction, I think there is plenty on offer in ‘Hidden’ that all readers will enjoy.

Leave a Reply

