The series finally concludes

‘Light’ – Michael Grant


Image courtesy of

Light – Michael Grant

All eyes are on Perdido Beach. The barrier wall is now as clear as glass and life in the FAYZ is visible for the entire outside world to see. Life inside the dome remains a constant battle and the Darkness, away from watchful eyes, grows and grows . . . The society that Sam and Astrid have struggled so hard to build is about to be shattered for good. It’s the end of the FAYZ. Who will survive to see the light of day?

After all of the events that have happened in the FAYZ, ‘Light’ draws this to a fast-paced and exciting conclusion. Following on from the aftermath of Gaia and the dome turning transparent, the book is a literal countdown as the kids feel that the end is near.

Grant keeps to the same formula as his previous novels in which there is still disturbing violence that the kids inflict on each other. But, after having spent a year in this prison, the kids appear to have learned from their experiences: become more resolute in their ambitions and have grown to show compassion to others when it is needed.

I really feared that this book would just finish with the barrier coming down and there being no explanation about what happened next. With everything that had happened in the FAYZ and Sam’s constant worry about being judged by the outside world for his actions, I was pleased that Grant dedicated a lot of time explaining the aftermath. I took great pleasure in learning about how the kids had adapted and what the consequences were to outsiders viewing the violence in the FAYZ and I think this helped conclude the series quite nicely. Indeed, even the final note from the author was quite touching as I realised that the FAYZ was finally over and the series completed.

When I first starting reading this series, I was dubious how far the writer could go with keeping the story fresh and exciting. True, it does have its moments but I do think that, looking back, accepting events as they happened was just part of the FAYZ and an important way to help you enjoy the story. If you have read the other books in the series then it would be wrong not to read the final instalment. However, if you are not sure about the ‘Gone’ books, then I I would recommend them as a solid read and one that you could easily enjoy.

For my reviews on the other books in the ‘Gone’ series, click the links below:

1. ‘Gone’

2. ‘Hunger’

3. ‘Lies’

4. ‘Plague’

5. ‘Fear’


5 thoughts on “The series finally concludes

  1. Pingback: Grant gets it right in this penultimate novel | Mrs Brown's books

  2. Pingback: Monsters take centre stage | Mrs Brown's books

  3. Pingback: Takes a while to get going | Mrs Brown's books

  4. Pingback: Not one to read if you are easily distracted by food | Mrs Brown's books

  5. Pingback: A teenage version of the x-men | Mrs Brown's books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s